Cal Poly Pomona and San Luis Obispo University Forums  

Go Back   Cal Poly Pomona and San Luis Obispo University Forums > Offsite Campus > General Discussions

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-11-04, 10:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Admin
Think About It
 
Admin's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,974
Admin is an unknown quantity at this point
eBayers Be Careful

Every suspicious e-mails you receive, please take extra attention to them.
Report them to the appropriate deparment rather than responding to the e-mail itself.

I think this is fake and my first time receiving it. Just wanted to share. If you received it, let me know.



Account Pre-Suspension Notice

Dear user (my@email.com),

You have received this email because we have strong reason to believe that your eBay account had been recently compromised used by a third party without your authorization. In order to prevent any fraudulent activity from occurring we are required to open an investigation into this matter. To speed up this process, you are required to verify your eBay infos by following the link below.

http://signin.ebay.com/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI.dll?Signln &UserID=username

(To complete the verification process you must fill in all the required fields)
Please Note - If your account informations are not updated within the next 72 hours, then we will assume this account is fraudulent and will be suspended. We apologize for this inconvenience, but the purpose of this verification is to ensure that your eBay account has not been fraudulently used and to combat fraud.
We apreciate your support and understading, as we work together to keep eBay a safe place to trade.
Thank you for your patience and attention in this important matter.

Regards,

Naomi,
Fraud Prevention Group
Do not respond to this e-mail, as your reply will not be received.

Copyright 2004 eBay Inc. All Rights Reserved.
Designated trademarks and brands are the property of their respective owners.
eBay and the eBay logo are trademarks of eBay Inc. is located at Hamilton Avenue, San Jose, CA 95125
View Unsafe Images




Although the e-mail header shows as:
Subject: **Account Pre-Suspension Notice**
From: suspension@ebay.com

Please be careful as e-mail spoof can easily be done. And links that is contained in a spam email can direct you to a fradulent website although it appears to be real. Be especially careful if you have a Paypal account.
__________________
Cal Poly Forums
Admin is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-04, 10:22 PM   #2 (permalink)
Admin
Think About It
 
Admin's Avatar
 
Joined: Sep 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 4,974
Admin is an unknown quantity at this point
Reponse was very quick at 10:20 p.m. PST.


Hello,

Thank you for contacting eBay's Trust and Safety Department about email
solicitations that are falsely made to appear to have come from eBay.
These emails, commonly referred to as "spoof" messages, are sent in an
attempt to collect sensitive personal information from recipients who
reply to the message or click on a link to a Web page requesting this
information.

The email you reported did not originate from, nor is it endorsed by,
eBay. We are very concerned about this problem and are working
diligently to address the situation. We are currently investigating the
source of this email to take further action. You may rest assured that
your account standing has not changed and that your listings have not
been affected.

We advise you to be very cautious of email messages that ask you to
submit information such as your credit card number or your email
password. eBay will never ask you for sensitive personal information
such as passwords, bank account or credit card numbers, Personal
Identification Numbers (PINs), or Social Security numbers in an email
itself. If you ever need to provide information to eBay please open a
new Web browser, type www.ebay.com, and click on the "site map" link
located at the top of the page to access the eBay page you need.

If you have any doubt about whether an email message is from eBay,
please forward it immediately to spoof@ebay.com and do not respond to it
or click on any of the links in the email message. Please do not change
the subject line or forward the email as an attachment.

If you entered personal information such as your password, social
security number or credit card numbers into a Web site based on a
request from a spoofed email, you need to take immediate action to
protect your identity. We have developed an eBay Help page with valuable
information regarding the steps you should take to protect yourself.

To get to the "Protecting Your Identity" Help page from the eBay site,
please click on the "help" link located at the top of most eBay pages
and select the following topics when the "eBay Help Center" window
appears:

Safe Trading > If Something Goes Wrong > Identity Theft

We encourage you to review additional information about protecting your
identity found in the eBay Help system. Please click on the "help" link
located at the top of most eBay pages and select the following topics
when the "eBay Help Center" window appears:

Safe Trading > If Something Goes Wrong& > Account Theft > Account
Protection

Once again, thank you for alerting us to the spoof email you received.
Your vigilance helps us ensure that eBay remains a safe and vibrant
online marketplace.


Regards,

Ian
eBay SafeHarbor
Investigations Team
____________________ __________
eBay
Your Personal Trading Community (tm)

******************** ******************** ***

Important: eBay will not ask you for sensitive personal information
(such as your password, credit card and bank account numbers, Social
Security numbers, etc.) in an email. Learn more account protection tips
at:

http://www.pages.ebay.com/help/account_protection.h tml
____________________ ____________________ _____

For our latest announcements, please check:

http://www2.ebay.com/aw/announce.shtml
____________________ ____________________ _____

In order to better serve you, we'd like to occasionally
request feedback on our service. If you would rather
not participate, please click on the link below and send
us an email with the word "REMOVE" in the subject line.
If that does not work, please send an email to the
email address below. Your request will be processed
within 5 days.

mailto:cssremove@eba y.com

******************** ******************** ***
__________________
Cal Poly Forums
Admin is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-04, 10:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
ak
Cal Poly Guru
 
ak's Avatar
 
Joined: Oct 2003
Location: LA
Posts: 605
ak is an unknown quantity at this point
Send a message via AIM to ak
Yup, I've been getting a lot of eBay "wannabes" and CitiBank emails. I give them prop on the format, but the URL address gives it away.
__________________
If you think education is expensive, try ignorance.

Education is the progressive discovery of our own ignorance.
ak is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Old 08-23-04, 05:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mike
Enthusiast
 
Joined: Jan 2004
Location: Fullerton
Posts: 199
Mike is an unknown quantity at this point
Just got one of them e-mails. I knew it was phony right away since the spam had an IP link rather than a real URL.
Mike is offline  
Digg this Post!Add Post to del.icio.usBookmark Post in TechnoratiFurl this Post!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MySpace, Xanga, Facebook users-be careful what you write Admin General Discussions 5 02-08-06 12:14 PM


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:59 AM.

CalPolyOnline.com RSS Feed CalPolyOnline.com RSS2 Feed CalPolyOnline.com XML Feed

Copyright ©2003-2008 CalPolyOnline.com. All rights reserved.
Copyright ©2000-2008, vBulletin Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
SEO by vBSEO 3.0.0 ©2007, Crawlability, Inc.